About JFS

Serving the Richmond Community

Our Mission

We transform the lives of individuals and families and strengthen our community by providing the best options in care, counseling and adoption.

Our Vision

To be recognized as the most trusted and compassionate resource in Richmond for innovative, quality services that empower people through every stage of life.

Our Values

  We maintain high ethical standards, treating our clients with respect, dignity and kindness.

  We value and appreciate the contributions of our staff, board, trustees, donors and partners.

  We strive to meet the ever-changing needs of our community.

  We practice the Jewish tradition, Tikkun Olam, striving to create a better world through dedicated service.

Our History

Established in 1849, JFS began as the Ladies Hebrew Benevolent Association. Today, we provide the highest quality, comprehensive services to everyone in the Greater Richmond area. Take a look at our timeline below to see how far we’ve come.

JFS Richmond Timeline


Rabbi Maximillian Michelbacher

1849

Rabbi Maximillian Michelbacher inspires female congregants to form the Ladies Hebrew Benevolent Association to help those less fortunate.

1860s

Ladies of the LHBA tend to soldiers in the Civil War, often turning their own homes into hospitals to care for the wounded. After the war, the ladies cared for widows and orphans.

Zipporah Cohen

1900s

Led by President Zipporah Cohen from 1904 through 1937, the Ladies make in-home visits to assist families struggling with desertion, delinquent youth, elder infirmities, and tuberculosis.

1930s – 1940s

LHBA responds to the Great Depression with support for growing numbers of the sick and unemployed. The LHBA also works to find sponsors for Jews who are able to escape Nazi Germany.

JFS Adoption parents

1950s

JFS establishes its Adoption program and places its first baby in a loving home.

On the other end of the aging spectrum, JFS recognizes that the elderly population is increasing, and introduces services like HomeCare to serve them.

1960s

With a new name and a revised charter, LHBA becomes Jewish Family Services. It expands Family Counseling, allows men to join the Board of Directors, and hires its first professional social worker.

The JFS Rap Center for troubled youth

1970s

JFS opens the Rap Center in the Fan District to serve troubled and runaway youth. The Rap Center later becomes the Daily Planet, now an independent agency serving Richmond’s homeless population.

Russian immigrants sponsored by JFS

1980s

JFS helps to resettle a new wave of Jewish immigrants from the former Soviet Union.

Today

Today’s JFS provides the highest quality, comprehensive services to children, teens, adults, couples, and the elderly.

Programs include Adoption, Counseling, Elderly Care Management, Personal Care, Guardianships, and Volunteers.

Board of Directors

Officers

Ronald Felmus, JFS Jewish Family Services Richmond Virginia

Ronald Felmus

President • JFS Board

Laffer Investments

Sandra Sisisky, JFS Jewish Family Services Richmond Virginia

Sandra Sisisky

1st Vice President • JFS Board

Community Volunteer

Sara Samford

Sara Griebel

2nd Vice President • JFS Board

Capital One

Rosemary Seltzer Secretary JFS Jewish Family Services Board Department of Aging & Rehabilitative Services

Rosemary Seltzer

Secretary • JFS Board

Department of Aging & Rehabilitative Services

Martin 2010 005.1

Martin Miller

Treasurer • JFS Board

BB&T

Board Members


Cindy Boswell, Altria

Bernard Henderson, Jr., Woody Funeral Home

Retta Leigh Keil, Community Volunteer

Kathy Kennedy, Community Volunteer

Rabbi Michael Knopf, Temple Beth El

John Myers, Community Volunteer

Seon Rockwell, Thought Logic Consulting

Jessica Samet, Alzheimer’s Association

Tom Topinka, Community Volunteer

Cheri Yochelson, Dominion Energy, Inc.

Trustees


Scott Belleman, Community Volunteer

Richard Birnbaum, V-Ten Capital Partners

Mike Eisenman, Virginia Commonwealth University

Benita Felmus, Community Volunteer

Neil Kessler, Troutman Sanders

Jerry Samford, Troutman Sanders

Staff

Directors & Supervisors

Wendy Kreuter, JFS Richmond CEO

Wendy Kreuter

Chief Executive Officer

Sydney Fleischer, JFS Jewish Family Services Richmond Virginia

Sydney Fleischer, Ph.D

Chief Operating Officer

 

Steve Parkins, JFS Jewish Family Services Richmond Virginia

Steve Parkins

Chief Financial Officer

Becki Mann Director of Philanthropy Jewish Family Services JFS Richmond Virginia VA

Becki Mann

Director of Philanthropy

Lisa Colegrove, Director of Care Services JFS Jewish Family Services Richmond Virginia

Lisa Colegrove, LCSW, C-ASWCM

Director of Care Support Services

Andrea Wharam Director of Home Care JFS Richmond Virginia VA Jewish Family Services

Andrea Wharam

Director of Home Care

Teresa Birchett, JFS Adoption Supervisor Jewish Family Services Richmond Virginia

Teresa Birchett, MSW

Adoption Supervisor

Penny Holleman, MPA Supervisor of Volunteer and Senior Engagement JFS Richmond Virginia VA Jewish Family Services

Penny Holleman, MPA

Supervisor of Volunteer and Senior Engagement

Care


Denise Bell, Home Care Services Coordinator
(804) 282-5644, ext. 230
dbell@jfsrichmond.org

Charlotte Bowen, BSW, Public Guardianship Director
(804) 282-5644, ext. 245
cbowen@jfsrichmond.org

Lisa Colegrove, LCSW, C-ASWCM, Director of Care Support Services
(804) 282-5644 ext. 254
lcolegrove@jfsrichmond.org

Dana Conrad, Home Care Services Coordinator
(804) 282-5644 ext. 232
dconrad@jfsrichmond.org

Kyle Davidson, Care Management Specialist
(804) 282-5644 ext. 259
kdavidson@jfsrichmond.org

Veronica Draffkorn, Senior Care Manager
(804) 282-5644 ext. 271
vdraffkorn@jfsrichmond.org

Carrie Harris, Care Services Administrative Assistant
(804) 282-5644 ext. 221
charris@jfsrichmond.org

Beverly Hynson, RN, Nursing Supervisor
(804) 282-5644 ext. 229
bhynson@jfsrichmond.org

Deborah Howard, RN, Nursing Supervisor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 229
dhoward@jfsrichmond.org

Angela Northington, RN, Nurse Manager
(804) 282-5644 ext. 227
anorthington@jfsrichmond.org

Donna Sutton, LPN, Care Manager
(804) 282-5644 ext. 250
dsutton@jfsrichmond.org

Jeanne Tyson, BS, CMC, Senior Care Manager
(804) 282-5644 ext. 269
jtyson@jfsrichmond.org

Andrea Wharam, Home Care Director
(804) 282-5644 ext. 262
awharam@jfsrichmond.org

Counseling


Shannon Carey, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 234
scarey@jfsrichmond.org

Jessica Carty, MSW, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 249
jcarty@jfsrichmond.org

Syreeta Chapman, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644 ext. 234
schapman@jfsrichmond.org

Christine DeMaioribus, Counseling Office Manager
(804) 282-5644, ext. 239
cdemaioribus@jfsrichmond.org

Olivia Faries, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 234
ofaries@jfsrichmond.org

Sydney Fleischer, Ph.D, LCSW, Chief Operating Officer
(804) 282-5644, ext. 235
sfleischer@jfsrichmond.org

Ellen Glass, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 224
eglass@jfsrichmond.org

Theresa Goff, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 274
tgoff@jfsrichmond.org

Melody Laughlin, Counseling Office Assistant
(804) 282-5644, ext. 234
mlaughlin@jfsrichmond.org

Jennifer L. Matovich, PsyD, Licensed Clinical Psychologist
(804) 282-5644, ext. 234
jmatovich@jfsrichmond.org

Phyllis McCafferty, LCSW, Senior Clinician
(804)282-5644, ext. 253
pmccafferty@jfsrichmond.org

Millicent McFadden, PsyD, ATR, Licensed Clinical Psychologist
(804)282-5644, ext. 291
mmcfadden@jfsrichmond.org

Carol McLaughlin, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 226
cmclaughling@jfsrichmond.org

Lynn Mosby, LCSW, Counselor
(804)282-5644, ext. 234
pmccafferty@jfsrichmond.org

Adoption


Teresa Birchett, MSW, Adoption Supervisor
(804) 282-5644 ext. 223
tbirchett@jfsrichmond.org

Jessica Carty, MSW, LCSW, Adoption Social Worker
(804) 282-5644 ext. 249
jcarty@jfsrichmond.org

Kristie Locke, MSW, Adoption Social Worker
(804) 282-5644, ext. 249
klocke@jfsrichmond.org

Administration


Maya Barnett, Development Coordinator
(804) 282-5644 ext. 231
mbarnett@jfsrichmond.org

Gianetta Borgio, Administrative Assistant
(804) 282-5644 ext. 222
gborgio@jfsrichmond.org

Nona Drumheller, Billing and Accounts Receivable Manager
(804) 282-5644 ext. 256
ndrumheller@jfsrichmond.org

Sydney Fleischer, Ph.D, LCSW, Chief Operating Officer
(804) 282-5644 ext. 235
sfleischer@jfsrichmond.org

Penny Holleman, MPA, Supervisor of Volunteer and Senior Engagement
(804) 282-5644 ext. 244
pholleman@jfsrichmond.org

Nona Kahn, Community Liaison
(804) 282-5644 ext. 225
nkahn@jfsrichmond.org

Wendy Kreuter, Chief Executive Officer
(804) 282-5644 ext. 236
wkreuter@jfsrichmond.org

Becki Mann, Director of Philanthropy
(804) 282-5644 ext. 277
bmann@jfsrichmond.org

Steve Parkins, Chief Financial Officer
(804) 282-5644 ext. 238
sparkins@jfsrichmond.org

Paula Porter, General Accountant
(804) 282-5644, ext. 240
pporter@jfsrichmond.org

Brian Strauss, Human Resources and Operations Supervisor
(804) 282-5644 ext. 265
bstrauss@jfsrichmond.org

Katy Yoffy, Accounts Payable Clerk
(804) 282-5644 ext. 240
kyoffy@jfsrichmond.org

SIGN UP FOR JFS NEWSLETTER