About JFS

Serving the Richmond Community

Our Mission

We transform the lives of individuals and families and strengthen our community by providing the best options in care, counseling and adoption.

Our Vision

To be recognized as the most trusted and compassionate resource in Richmond for innovative, quality services that empower people through every stage of life.

Our Values

  We maintain high ethical standards, treating our clients with respect, dignity and kindness.

  We value and appreciate the contributions of our staff, board, trustees, donors and partners.

  We strive to meet the ever-changing needs of our community.

  We practice the Jewish tradition, Tikkun Olam, striving to create a better world through dedicated service.

Our History

Established in 1849, JFS began as the Ladies Hebrew Benevolent Association. Today, we provide the highest quality, comprehensive services to everyone in the Greater Richmond area. Take a look at our timeline below to see how far we’ve come.

JFS Richmond Timeline


Rabbi Maximillian Michelbacher

1849

Rabbi Maximillian Michelbacher inspires female congregants to form the Ladies Hebrew Benevolent Association to help those less fortunate.

1860s

Ladies of the LHBA tend to soldiers in the Civil War, often turning their own homes into hospitals to care for the wounded. After the war, the ladies cared for widows and orphans.

Zipporah Cohen

1900s

Led by President Zipporah Cohen from 1904 through 1937, the Ladies make in-home visits to assist families struggling with desertion, delinquent youth, elder infirmities, and tuberculosis.

1930s – 1940s

LHBA responds to the Great Depression with support for growing numbers of the sick and unemployed. The LHBA also works to find sponsors for Jews who are able to escape Nazi Germany.

JFS Adoption parents

1950s

JFS establishes its Adoption program and places its first baby in a loving home.

On the other end of the aging spectrum, JFS recognizes that the elderly population is increasing, and introduces services like HomeCare to serve them.

1960s

With a new name and a revised charter, LHBA becomes Jewish Family Services. It expands Family Counseling, allows men to join the Board of Directors, and hires its first professional social worker.

The JFS Rap Center for troubled youth

1970s

JFS opens the Rap Center in the Fan District to serve troubled and runaway youth. The Rap Center later becomes the Daily Planet, now an independent agency serving Richmond’s homeless population.

Russian immigrants sponsored by JFS

1980s

JFS helps to resettle a new wave of Jewish immigrants from the former Soviet Union.

Today

Today’s JFS provides the highest quality, comprehensive services to children, teens, adults, couples, and the elderly.

Programs include Adoption, Counseling, Elderly Care Management, Personal Care, Guardianships, and Volunteers.

Board of Directors

Officers

jfs_ronald_felmus-3772

Ronald Felmus

President • JFS Board

Laffer Investments

jfs_sandra_sisisky-3362

Sandra Sisisky

1st Vice President • JFS Board

Community Volunteer

jfs_eric_shoendeld-3698

Eric Shoenfeld

2nd Vice President • JFS Board

Financial Engines

Sara Samford

Sara Griebel

Secretary • JFS Board

Capital One

Martin 2010 005.1

Martin Miller

Treasurer • JFS Board

BB&T

Board Members


Cynthia Bailey, Attorney

Bernard Henderson, Jr., Woody Funeral Home

Retta Leigh Keil, Community Volunteer

Kathy Kennedy, Community Volunteer

David L. Monday, Commonwealth Retirement Advisors

Paige L. Quilter, MetLife

Jessica Samet, Alzheimer’s Association

Tom Topinka, Community Volunteer

Cheri Yochelson, Dominion Resources, Inc.

Trustees


Scott Belleman, Community Volunteer

Richard Birnbaum, V-Ten Capital Partners

Mike Eisenman, Virginia Commonwealth University

Benita Felmus, Community Volunteer

Neil Kessler, Troutman Sanders

Jerry Samford, Troutman Sanders

Staff

Directors & Supervisors

Wendy Kreuter, JFS Richmond CEO

Wendy Kreuter

Chief Executive Officer

jfs_sydney_fleischer-3122

Sydney Fleischer, Ph.D

Chief Operating Officer

Home Care Administrator

jfs_steve_parkins-3374

Steve Parkins

Chief Financial Officer

Lisa Colegrove

Lisa Colegrove, LCSW, C-ASWCM

Director of Care Management

jfs_lisa_davis-3285

Lisa Davey, RN, MS

Director of Compliance & Program Development

Photo Coming Soon

David Guion, Ph.D.

Director of Clinical Services

Teresa Birchett

Teresa Birchett, MSW

Adoption Supervisor

Sheryl Luebke

Sheryl Luebke, M.Ed

Supervisor of Senior Engagement & Volunteer Resources

jay-white-500-x-500

John T. "Jay" White, Ed.D, MSG, CDP

Director of Advancement
Director of Homecare
Gerontologist

Care


Denise Bell, Home Care Services Coordinator
(804) 282-5644, ext. 230
dbell@jfsrichmond.org

Charlotte Bowen, BSW, Public Guardianship Director
(804) 282-5644, ext. 245
cbowen@jfsrichmond.org

Kimberly Burtt, BSW, Care Manager
(804) 282-5644, ext. 271
kburtt@jfsrichmond.org

Lisa Colegrove, LCSW, C-ASWCM, Director of Care Management
(804) 282-5644 ext. 254
lcolegrove@jfsrichmond.org

Lisa Davey, RN, MS, Director of Compliance & Program Development
(804) 282-5644 ext. 248
ldavey@jfsrichmond.org

Kyle Davidson, Care Management Specialist
(804) 282-5644 ext. 259
kdavidson@jfsrichmond.org

Linda Gay, RN, Nursing Supervisor
(804) 282-5644 ext. 282
lgay@jfsrichmond.org

Beverly Hynson, RN, Nursing Supervisor
(804) 282-5644 ext. 229
bhynson@jfsrichmond.org

Wanda Scott, Personal Care Coordinator
(804) 282-5644 ext. 232
wscott@jfsrichmond.org

Donna Sutton, LPN, Care Manager
(804) 282-5644 ext. 250
dsutton@jfsrichmond.org

Jeanne Tyson, BS, CMC, Senior Care Manager
(804) 282-5644 ext. 269 (Voice Mail)
jtyson@jfsrichmond.org

Jay White, Ed.D, MSG, CDP, Director of Home Care
(804) 282-5644 ext. 262
jwhite@jfsrichmond.org

Counseling


Melissa Bunce, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 281 (Voice Mail)
mbunce@jfsrichmond.org

Anna Cameron, LCSW, Clinician
Program Administration Coordinator
(804) 282-5644, ext. 279
acameron@jfsrichmond.org

Jessica Carty, MSW, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 249
jcarty@jfsrichmond.org

Syreeta Chapman, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644 ext. xxx
schapman@jfsrichmond.org

Christine DeMaioribus, Administrative Assistant
(804) 282-5644, ext. 234
cdemaioribus@jfsrichmond.org

Sydney Fleischer, Ph.D, LCSW
Chief Operating Officer
(804) 282-5644, ext. 235
sfleischer@jfsrichmond.org

Ellen Glass, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 224
eglass@jfsrichmond.org

Theresa Goff, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 274
tgoff@jfsrichmond.org

David Guion, Ph.D., Licensed Clinical Psychologist
Director of Clinical Services
(804) 282-5644, ext. 291
dguion@jfsrichmond.org

Cheryl Johnson, Client Intake Coordinator
(804) 282-5644, ext. 239
cjohnson@jfsrichmond.org

Jennifer L. Matovich, PsyD, Licensed Clinical Psychologist
(804) 282-5644, ext. 234
jennifer.matovich@gmail.com 

Phyllis McCafferty, LCSW, Senior Clinician
(804)282-5644, ext. 253
pmccafferty@jfsrichmond.org

Bracha Poliakoff, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 234
bpoliakoff@jfsrichmond.org

Zena Tulchinsky, LCSW, Counselor
(804) 282-5644, ext. 273 (Voice Mail)
ztulchinsky@jfsrichmond.org

Adoption


Teresa Birchett, MSW, Adoption Supervisor
(804) 282-5644 ext. 223
tbirchett@jfsrichmond.org

Jessica Carty, MSW, LCSW, Adoption Social Worker
(804) 282-5644 ext. 249
jcarty@jfsrichmond.org

Kristie Locke, MSW, Adoption Social Worker
(804) 282-5644, ext. 249
klocke@jfsrichmond.org

Administration


Maya Barnett, Development Coordinator
(804) 282-5644 ext. 231
mbarnett@jfsrichmond.org

Gianetta Borgio, Administrative Assistant
(804) 282-5644 ext. 222
gborgio@jfsrichmond.org

Lynn Clark, Billing Specialist
(804) 282-5644 ext. 256
lclark@jfsrichmond.org

Sydney Fleischer, Ph.D, LCSW
Chief Operating Officer
(804) 282-5644 ext. 235
sfleischer@jfsrichmond.org

Wendy Kreuter, Chief Executive Officer
(804) 282-5644 ext. 236
wkreuter@jfsrichmond.org

Melody Laughlin, Administrative Assistant
(804) 282-5644 ext. 225
mlaughlin@jfsrichmond.org

Sheryl Luebke, M.Ed
Supervisor of Senior Engagement & Volunteer Resources
(804) 282-5644 ext. 244
sluebke@jfsrichmond.org

Steve Parkins, Chief Financial Officer
(804) 282-5644 ext. 238
sparkins@jfsrichmond.org

Paula Porter, General Accountant
(804) 282-5644, ext. 240
pporter@jfsrichmond.org

Brian Strauss, Human Resources and Operations Supervisor
(804) 282-5644 ext. 265
bstrauss@jfsrichmond.org

Jay White, Ed.D, MSG, CDP, Director of Advancement
(804) 282-5644 ext. 277
jwhite@jfsrichmond.org

Katy Yoffy, Accounts Payable Clerk
(804) 282-5644 ext. 240
kyoffy@jfsrichmond.org

SIGN UP FOR JFS NEWSLETTER